Friday, March 09, 2007


Manipur will soon get its first National Institute of Technology (NIT).Currently, there are 20 NITs, one each in Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.In 2003, the government had decided to take over 17 Regional Engineering Colleges (RECs) and upgrade them as NITs. Thereafter, on the request from the respective states, three more engineering colleges - the Bihar College of Engineering, Patna, the Government Engineering College, Raipur, and the Tripura Engineering College, Agartala, were upgraded in 2004, 2005 and 2006, respectively

No comments: