Sunday, June 15, 2008


Government will formulating an act for setting up the 14 Central Universities of world class standards. all the universities will be setup once the act for setting up these universities will introduced. universities would be located in Pune, Kolkata, Coimbatore, Mysore, Visakhapatnam, Gandhinagar, Jaipur, Patna, Bhopal, Kochi, Amritsar, Bhubaneswar, Greater Noida and Guwahati.The locations have been decided keeping in mind the connectivity and the infrastructure which such universities would need. The state governments would be requested to identify adequate land in or near the selected cities. UGC will help to establish 370 Colleges in districts where access and participation rates are lower than the national average. Most of these districts also have a concentration of SCs, STs, and minorities.As many as 373 districts in India were having Gross Enrolment Ratio (GER) lower than the national average which has been identified by the UGC.

No comments: