Thursday, June 12, 2008

one university in every district in A.P

Andhra Pradesh would soon have at least one university in every district.The cabinet has approved the proposal to set up new universities in the district headquarters, among the districts that do not have even one university. The places to be set up universities are Karimnagar, Mahbubnagar, Srikakulam, Machhilipatnam, Potti Sriramulu Nellore and Kurnool.The state government has also decided to set up 19 new degree colleges, eight junior colleges and eight polytechnics in the state. An education complex would also come up in Hyderabad to provide training to college teachers.The state government set up a university each in three regions in 2006 at Nizamabad, Rajahmundry and Kadapa. In October 2006, it also announced the setting up of another university at Nalgonda of the Telangana region.

No comments: