Friday, June 20, 2008

Lifetime achievement awards

The government will confer the ‘One Time Award for Life Time Achievement’ on film luminaries Dilip Kumar, Tapan Sinha, Lata Mangeshkar and Saroja Devi as part of the commemoration of the 60th anniversary of India’s independence.Due to Tapan Sinha’s failing health, the award would be given to him at his residence on Friday by West Bengal Governor Gopal Krishna Gandhi in the presence of Minister for Information and Broadcasting Priyaranjan Dasmunsi.He would receive the award for film direction.The national awards function will be held at Delhi’s Vigyan Bhavan in August.The award comprised of a cheque of Rs.1,000,000 ($25,000) a shawl and a citation.Sinha has won 19 national film awards in various categories along with laurels in international film festivals like those in Berlin, Venice ,London, Moscow,San Francisco and Locarno.Starting his film career in with 'Ankush', Sinha developed deep interest into films dealing with subjects of social relevance . storyteller par excellence, Tapan Sinha's films are well-crafted in terms of structure and technique, exhibiting his virtuosity and capability to handle a range of subjects with equal simplicity and sensitivity.some of which earned him wide acclaim in the country and abroad.Some of his cinematic excellence includes Ankush(1954)Uphaar(1955), “Safed Haathi” (1977), “Ek Doctor Ki Maut (1991), Kabuliwala (1957), Haatey Bazaare (1967), Louhapat(1957), Sagina Mahato” (1970) and “Shatabdir Kanya” (2001).

No comments: