Wednesday, July 16, 2008


The ministry of human resource development has decided to launch the Rajasthan institute as India’s eighth IIT on August 2.Classes will begin on August 4, the sources said, but students selected to the Rajasthan institute will be asked to report to IIT Kanpur on July 30.The seven existing IITs are at Kharagpur, Mumbai, Madras, Kanpur, Delhi, Guwahati and Roorkee.Rajasthan was among the first three states — along with Andhra Pradesh and Bihar — that were announced as recipients of new IITs, but the state and the Centre have not been in agreement over the institute’s location ever since.Apart from Rajasthan, five other new IITs — in Orissa, Gujarat, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Punjab — are starting courses this year. Of these, the Rajasthan, Orissa and Punjab IITs will function out of their “mentor” institutes — the IITs at Kanpur, Kharagpur and Delhi — this year.The remaining three — Gujarat, Andhra Pradesh and Bihar — will operate out of temporary campuses near their respective state capitals.A foundation stone is to be placed at the IIT Andhra campus in Medak near Hyderabad on August 8, but classes are likely to start later.

No comments: